Rejection Letter #2

At the turn of the year I applied for a position as a copywriter at a student placement company based on the Gateshead side of the quayside in Newcastle. I’d never heard of them but applied because the walk from the bus to the job would only have taken me an hour which I could probably have claimed back as a business expense. I absent-mindedly applied and received the offer of an interview followed by a request to complete several written exercises. At the time I was heavily into watching Breaking Bad so there’s definitely a chance that several references to methamphetamine use, murder and hair loss caused by treatment for an aggressive form of lung cancer could have made their way into the copy. I suspect this was the reason that my offer of an interview was subsequently withdrawn. That and the fact I sent a friend request on Facebook to all the employees of the company, including Rachel with whom I corresponded, and an accompanying email for us all to meet up for drinks prior to my interview. A lot of them were appalled. I was just being pro-active. Some people need to lighten up.

I’m still waiting for Rachel to confirm my friend request.

 

On Mon, Jan 19, 2015 at 11:58 AM, Rachel P<rachel@*********.com> wrote:

Hi Chris,

We’ve had a chance to read through your written exercises.

We’ve had a huge amount of applications for this role, and unfortunately we have had a number of other applications that are more appropriate to our brand images and promises. I will therefore have to withdraw the offer of the interview.

Please accept my sincere apologies and my best wishes for your future job hunt.

Kind regards,

Rachel.

PA to Director
________________________________________

Chris James Peet

Jan 19
to Rachel

Dear Rachel,

This is truly upsetting news. Luckily I wasn’t up a tall tree or crossing a busy road when I read your email as that could have been quite disastrous.

I do indeed accept your sincere apologies. It’s unfortunate that I don’t fit with your brand image and promises; though I must confess that’s something of a relief as judging by the homepage of your website your brand image seems to suggest a cataclysmic apocalypse of some sort.

I will, however, thank you for the opportunity of emailing you a couple of times, and allowing me to sharpen my getting-prepared-for-an-interview-that-isn’t-actually-going-to-happen skills.

The only thing I will say is that I’d already purchased a rail ticket, a new boiler suit and bowler hat specifically for this interview which has left me substantially out of pocket. I’m presuming you still have a copy of my CV so if you could just send a cheque payable to me to the address on it then that would be very much appreciated. The grand total for these items is £9.30.

Once again I thank you for your ambiguous correspondence. It’s been a slice.

Yours heartbrokenly,

Chris James Peet

________________________________________

On Mon, Jan 19, 2015 at 3:01 PM, Rachel P <rachel@*********.com> wrote:

Hi Chris,

We do not reimburse travel costs associated with initial interviews, which is pretty standard practise.

Kind regards,

Rachel.

________________________________________

Chris James Peet

Jan 19

to Rachel
Dear Rachel,

What about the cost of the boiler suit and bowler hat? I bought these specifically so I could comfortably adhere myself to the general branding of your company.

I expected to wear these for both work and my extracurricular activities such as interpretive dance and woo-ing so a refund would be appreciated.

Regards,

Chris

________________________________________

On Mon, Jan 19, 2015 at 4:36PM, Rachel P <rachel@*********.com>wrote:

Chris,

As I have already explained, we will not be refunding any expenses, travel or otherwise. I apologise once again and wish you luck in your job hunt.

 

Kind regards,

Rachel.

________________________________________

Chris James Peet

Jan 19

to Rachel
Dear Rachel,

Will you be my friend on Facebook?

Kind regards,
Chris

 

Posted on 13/09/2015, in Human Beings Still Exist and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

